Home News McGovern and Studer to Represent NJPGA in The U.S. Senior Open

Jim McGovern (White Beeches GCC) and Brent Studer (Metedeconk National GC) will head to California to compete in the United States Senior Open to be contested at Del Paso Country Club on June 25th-28th.

McGovern who is set to tee off on Thursday at 7:00 AM PDT (10:00 AM EDT) qualified for the National Championship at Arcola Country Club on May 21st with a score of 2-under par 70.  McGovern, who recently has become eligible as a Senior Professional in the New Jersey Section, has claimed victory this season in the Cutter & Buck Head Pro Championship, NJPGA/NJSGA Senior Open, NJPGA Senior Match Play Championship, as well as a Top 5 finish in the Lincoln Charity Clambake.

Studer, beginning his first season as head professional at Metedeconk National GC, also qualified at Arcola Country Club with a score of 2-under par 70.  Studer is a two-time NJPGA Section Champion, two-time Charity Clambake Champion, as well as a former NJPGA Player of the Year.  Studer will tee off on Thursday, June 25th at 8:45 AM PDT (11:45 AM EDT) for his first round.

The United States Senior Open will be competed on the Kyle Phillips re-designed Del Paso Country Club in Sacramento California and will be the fifth visit for the USGA, the last being the being the 1982 U.S. Women’s Open. 156 golfers will compete Thursday & Friday with the hopes of making the cut of 60 players and ties.  TV Coverage of the event will begin on Fox Sports 1 on Thursday, June 25th from 2:00 PM – 7:00 PM EDT.

The NJPGA Section wishes both McGovern and Studer the best of luck on the West Coast!

For a List of Round 1 Starting Times – Click Here

For a List of Round 2 Starting Times – Click Here

Email to someoneShare on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterGoogle+Pin on PinterestShare on LinkedInshare on Tumblr

Leave a Reply